Asia: Azerbaijan


Informations Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan is a landlocked country in the Middle East between the Caspian Sea and the Caucasus. In the north, Azerbaijan borders on Russia (Dagestan), on the northwest on Georgia, on the south on Iran and on the west on Armenia and on the exclave of Nakhichevan - on Turkey. The capital of Azerbaijan is Baku (Azerbaijani Bak?), A major port city on the Caspian Sea. The total area of the country is 86,600 square kilometers. Only 9.4 million people live in this area, of which more than a third live in Baku, the capital.

Azerbaijan was a state of the Soviet Union until 1991, when it became independent.

Although Azerbaijan borders the Caspian Sea, most of the country is alpine to high alpine. On the border with Iran rises the Talyschgebirge. The highest mountain is the Bazardüzü belonging to the Greater Caucasus with 4466 meters directly on the border with Russia 



Dagestan Tur Azerbaidjan